Sunday, May 2, 2010

Sugar Minott - Live Loving

This is simply a must have of an album as Coxsone dips into his big box of riddims to supply Sugar with some of his all time classics. True Experience on 'Jah Almighty', Mr Bassie 'Jah Jah Lead Us’, Get in the Groove for ‘Hang On Natty’ and Bob Andy’s Going Home riddim on title track ‘Live Loving’.
Muffled vocal opener 'Jahoviah', on the same riddim as Cedric Brooks ‘Full Time’ sounds like it was recorded with Sugar in the room next door, but this just adds to the mystical, spiritual feel of the tune as it sounds like Sugar is trying to contact us from a another world. Again as we follow onto ‘Hang On Natty' the vocal is slightly muffled, but the heartening bounce of the riddim pulls this tune through. From here on Sugars singjay styled vocals are right up in the mix and the full on devotion of the lyrics is felt on what it is a collection of great roots songs, just check out that bass and vibe on ‘Love Gonna Pack Up’, now that’s quality roots appeal.

01. Jahoviah
02. Hang On Natty
03. Change Your Ways
04. Give A Hand
05. Come On Home
06. A House Is Not A Home
07. Live Loving
08. Love Gonna Pack Up
09. Jah Almighty
10. Jah Jah Lead Us

No comments: