Sunday, September 29, 2013

Onlyjoe Play With Fire

Having appeared to rave reviews at various summer festivals London outfit onlyjoe are following up on the success of ‘Wicked Land’ and ‘Revolution’ to release their fourth single ‘Play With Fire’ which sees the band truly become the roots outfit that they claim to be. 
The single is backed by a mighty effect filled dub version from Dubkasm that veers away from their usual steppas style, a trademark dancefloor killer remix by DJ Madd as well as a sparse and atmospheric mix from Unit 137’s respected producers Sleepy Time Ghost and Hylu.

'Play With Fire' is released on October 14th on 12" vinyl, CD and digital formats


Out now is a blistering collection of ska tunes from Clement 'Sir Coxsone' Dodd's legendary Studio One Records, Jamaica's foundation label of reggae music. Featuring  classic cuts from the originators of Ska - The Skatalites, The Wailers, Lee Perry -  alongside a heavy dose of superb rarities from the might vaults of 13 Brentford Road - pure Ska Fever !

Soul Jazz Records new Studio One Ska Fever returns back to the early 1960s - when Ska was the soundtrack to Jamaica's Independence and Sir Coxsone ruled the land and The Skatalites and Studio One were creating history on a daily basis with an endless stream of blistering, scorching classic tunes.

This album includes an incredible line-up of only the finest artists in reggae music, including Roland Alphonso, The Gaylads, The Ethiopians, Don Drummond, Jackie Opel and many more. An all-star cast from Studio One, as Chris Blackwell famously noted, the 'University of Reggae'.

The accompanying booklet contains extensive sleeve-notes from Studio One historian Rob Chapman (author of Never Grow Old and Downbeat Special), with information on musicians, tracks, label scans and more.

Soul Jazz Records' Studio One Ska Fever is released in CD- jewel case, 24-page booklet with card slipcase, as well as a heavyweight double-vinyl edition in deluxe strong gatefold sleeve (with full sleeve notes) and also as a digital download.


1. Hugh Godfrey - Mad World           
2. Johnny Moore - Skauling Johnny           
3. Bongo Man   - Where's Garvey           
4. The Clarendonians - Rudie Bam Bam           
5. Jackie Opel: Old Rocking Chair          
6. The Wailers - Climb The Ladder            
7. Jackie Mittoo - Jump For Joy           
8. Lee Perry - Gumma           
9. Soul Brothers  - Freedom Sounds           
10. The Clarendonians - You Won't See Me           
11. Roland Alphonso  - Cleopatra           
12. The Gaylads - Don't Try To Reach Me           
13. The Skatalites - Ska Parisienne           
14. Joe Higgs & Roy Wilson - There's A Reward           
15. The Skatalites - Timothy           
16. Ethiopians   - Live Good            
17. Don Drummond - Green Island            
18. The Wailers - Mr Talkative   

Buy here.
Listen here.

Sunday, September 22, 2013

Frootful - The Road / Benedicts Boogaloo

In 2011, Frootful released their début album Colours on Freestyle Records to great acclaim, with everyone from Osunlade, Craig Charles and Diesler praising its modern-yet-retro blend of 60s soul, rocksteady, dance floor friendly jazz and R&B, whilst Jazz FM made it an Album Of The Week. The début single taken from it, 'Fish In The Sea' became a club hit, and also featured in Steven Soderbergh's hit movie Magic Mike.

Now Frootful return with a fantastic two track 45 taken from Heavyweight - the forthcoming long player.

The Road features UK soul vocalist Mazen Bedwei, who first featured on a Freestyle release when singing on Nick Van Gelder's 'Something's Gotta Give' on the compilation 'Sounds From The Soul Underground'.

The Road is a bright, breezy and uplifting soul groove, that has something of a late 60s feel, where shimmering horns underpin Mazen's Curtis Mayfield inspired vocals and Frootful main man Nick Radford's tasteful guitar picking locks down this sweet summer sound.

On the flip, the mood is altogether more greasy; Benedicts Boogaloo is a gritty soul-jazz work out that's been double dipped in the funk. Nick gets the chance to display his guitar chops wonderfully, the bubbling bass line is unrelenting whilst a dirty, distorted organ grooves out to a stunning climax!

Available from

Friday, September 13, 2013

Dubplate Fashion - Tradesman & Parly B

Following on from a storming start to the year with a number of high quality underground hits, Reggae Roast are going from strength to strength and have built up a very loyal following, both for their label and events. This release is set to be no different, having already done the rounds on dubplate for a number of months and has mashed many a dance. They’ve gone for everyone’s favourite up and coming producer outta Leeds, Tradesman and Reggae Roast mic man extraordinaire, Parly B inna wicked combination.

Drawing inspiration from the ‘golden age’ of digital Reggae production, Dubplate Fashion, is sure to get people skanking out each and every time. Referencing classic production styles from producers such as King Jammy & Gussie P, Tradesman has created his own unmistakable sound with his remake of the classic Rumours Riddim originally voiced by Gregory Isaacs in the 80’s. Top that off with Parly B flinging out bar after bar of lyrical heat and you have a toppa top tune!

Wrecking dancefloors wherever he goes, Parly B has made incredible in roads in the UK dub scene in the last 12. He came to light with his stand out release “Competition” on Mungo’s Hi Fi’s Scotch Bonnet imprint and since then has been one of the most sought after MCs in the UK. Parly has gone on to collaborate with a whole heap of diverse and sonically interesting producers such as Riddim Tuffa, 7FT Soundsystem, The Skints, Lionfire & Mungo’s Hi-Fi showcasing his imitable style and riding any riddim how only he can.

Hailing from Leeds, Tradesman has been exposed to a hot bed of musical activity, more importantly Soundsystem culture, for a number of years. Birthplace of Iration Steppas & the renowned Subdub dances it was only a matter of time before Tradesman caught the bug. He is a resident at one of Subdub’s more underground offshoots, Dancehall Science, and regularly supports some of the most exciting artists in Dub music today playing sets where the majority of  the tunes are his own productions. This has, in turn, led to Scotch Bonnet (Mungo’s Hi-Fi imprint) snapping up his debut release with Parly B, ‘Inna Competition’ which gained support from some of the scene’s top players and took Tradesman’s ruffneck digital sound international.

Adam Prescott combines a crucial selection of rough and tough Roots music with a modern injection of Dubstep & Steppas. With support and guidance from some of the biggest names in the scene, Adam has been making moves in the world of Dub & Dubstep for a while now working on original tunes with well-known and established artists.

Reggae Roast is building a formidable catalogue featuring some of the most exciting artists in the UK and beyond. Key players in the resurgence of the UK Roots scene over the past 5 years, they are a leading light in the new generation of dub music. Setting them apart from the crowd is their ruff n tuff remixes giving the label a unique cross over appeal. Look out for plenty more releases in the coming months from the likes of Adam Prescott, Charlie P, Dubmatix, Vibration Lab and many more.